Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Strictly Ionian?

Strictly Ionian?

I hope people got something out of the "Strickly Pentatonic?" thread, the downloads on the backing track seemed to suggest it was a fairly popular idea.

I really needed something like that when I was a total beginner and I think it probably helps to hear others play the "flavour" of the scale or genre of music they're trying to play.

So...guess what?

I thought if we can do that for pentatonic/blues playing why not try to shed a bit of light on modes of the major scale.

Ionian mode then. My version plus the backing track.

My version has a twin guitar hook playing in harmony. I've added the powertab for this hook with both parts on it. Scuse the rhythm on the ptab, not my strong point I can tell you. But the notes are there so I hope it helps.

For beginners: Intersting to take note: Everything, yes EVERYTHING is played only using the notes of the scale of C major that is CDEFGABC. There are no sharps or flats in this piece anywhere.

The astute players and musicians amongst you will hear me attempt a few arpeggios and a couple of mini sweeps, in fact you can even hear me pause to prepare for them (How'd they sound Eric?...more practice required)

But again, beginners take note even these are obviously only using the scale of C Major!!!

The backing track, is Veeeeeerrrry boring but gives you a platform to twiddle the C Major scale over the top untikl you've got that Ionian sound down a treat!

If you want me to tab out any bit of my version I''ll have a go for you, let me know.

Enjoy!

Ionian in C.
    Attached Files Attached Files