Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: too late?

too late?

i don't know if this belongs in this category (feel free to move this if its in the wrong area) but i have had a few questions on my mind lately

i started really playing electric guitar and taking lessons a little over a year ago and prior to that i had been playing acoustic and kind of messing around for two years. so ive been playing for a total of over three years now with some piano training in the past. i'm now 21 and i'm wondering if i'm too old to keep up and even go to music school. i'm still taking lessons and would ideally like to go to music school for a year next september. i guess i really want to go but i'm wondering if i'll be able to keep up because it seems everyone started when they were 12 or 15. i'm a really hard worker but im wondering if i can compensate for all the lost years ie. 21 - 15 is 6 years! i'm currently in the la area and was considering going to MI or LAMA. am i just a ridiculous dreamer that found out his passion a little too late? i know i should focus on progress but its hard not to compare to other people and to see all the areas i need to work on.. especially having started late. anyone have any advice? especially those who have gone or are in music schools?
    -allen

Heck I felt the same way as you. I'm 17 and I really only got serious about playing the guitar halfway through the summer. I realized that you just have to stick to what you really want to do, because there is nothing else worth doing.

I think Allan Holdsworth only started when he was 21!

Dave

it will only be too late if you keep wondering when it's too late.