Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Can a right-handed made guitar be played left-handedly?

Can a right-handed made guitar be played left-handedly?

Hello.

I am a left-handed musician and so far I custom ordered all my left handed guitars.
    I recently met a lefty guitarist who has lots of right-handed guitars and just switched the strings. He claims that the sound is exactly the same (assuming of course that the guitar's shape is strictly symmetrical)

I am wondering whether the sound on Yamaha's best model - LL36 would change if the strings are switched. If not, I would seriously thinking of buying it. (Yamaha doesn't make a lefty version of this guitar)

I would appreciate it if any one of you guys give me some feedback on this issue.

I thank you in advance.

Christos

Jimi Hendrix used to turn the nut of a right handed guitar around, and then string the guitar like a left-hand model. This is a good idea, since you might get some buzz and tuning problems if you don´t turn around the nut... the high E-string would run through the slot of the low E-string and vice versa. Some of the strings would get stuck in the slots which would be too narrow, while others would buzz in slots which are too big.
    Once you turned around the nut, it should work
    Eric

Laiho's heir guitarist wild_child's Avatar
    the tone IS slightly different, because the pickups will be the other way round (assuming you don't switch them) thats why the pickups are upside down on the right handed jimi signature strats.