Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electric Guitar

Question Electric Guitar

Ive been playing the classical guitar for a few years and i want to move on to an electric. Which on is best, i have £200 - 250 to spend

Hi Timmy,

Welcome to the Forums. My first (and current) electric guitar was a Samick LK35DOS. It cost me $140, which is in your price range. I think it is a really fine guitar for the money. The workmanship is really good. The neck and fretwork seem great, although I'm no expert. The sustain on this guitar is really great. It's got a bridge humbucker, and then two single coil pickups, so you can get a pretty good range of sounds. I've had it 16 months now, and some of the frets are starting to show a little wear. I don't know if that is normal, but it seems a little early for that. The pickups are cheap I think, therefore, the top strings sound pretty weak. But overall, I am very satisfied with this guitar. I'll probably buy another guitar around Christmas time, and I'll most likely get a Strat of some sort.

I suggest heading over to harmonycentral.com to check out their guitar reviews. They have a huge number of reviews there by people who actually own the guitars. Good luck, and give us an update later on.

Hey Timmy,

Dansters suggestion is a good one, comapnies such as Samick make pretty affordable guitars which usually do have a nice sound and are pretty durable.
    ( Years ago, I bought one of their guitars. It was quite affordable, and sounded suprisingly good. The pickups weren´t that great, but you can have those replaced one day. The body was made of plywood, but had a surprising amount of sustain anyway ).