Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Words to Live By

Words to Live By

When I started learning how to play an instrument, my dad gave me his old guitar lessons book. It was an old beat up book from the early 80's, dirty black cover, and full of strange squiggles, lines, dots, and thingamawhatsits that were musical notation. The book itself never helped me much, infact a few years of frustration later I switched over to bass. However what was written on the inside cover by my dad's guitar teacher has stayed with me. These simple words are things I remember when I practice and have helped me alot.

"Remember Technique" and "Don't Look at Your Left Hand"

Anyone else have any inspiring words they recieved?

"You have what it takes. All that is left is to do what it takes with what you have."
    ---my guitar teacher on a card for my birthday
    "An object at rest CANNOT BE STOPPED!" - The Evil Midnight Bomber (What Bombs at Midnight) [The Tick]

"No one can play everything. Figure out what you want to play and focus on that" Abi von Reininghaus

"If you find out you have a problem with playing something, find that problem, isolate it, work on it and get rid of it" Steve Morse

Eric

"Don´t ever forget: when you´re playing music, someone is listening"
    -- Mick Goodrick

"Never give up, you have it"-My father

those single 6 words are what have kept me trying......and i also dont think they would have been as improtant had they not been from my father....

"you should really become one of those people who writes and plays music... you're good"