Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: fingerstyle

fingerstyle

Hi everyone, I'm just hanging out checking the forums. Lots of great stuff to read.

I have a question regarding thumbpicks. I've been playing for 12 years. I play electric guitar and acoustic. I used to wear fake nails on P,I,M and A. About a month before I recorded my first fingerstyle cd I picked up some thumb-picks and tried them. It felt so comfortable so immediately that I ended up recording with it. (I covered Scott Joplin's "The Entertainer" on that disc) That was about 4 years ago. Since then I have written many new songs that switch between fingerstyle and flat pick. I have also been getting my nails capped with acrylic and it works great. I do find however that the thumbpick is too rigid for picking with it. I can do it rather well now but I was looking at maybe trying something different. I'm currently using Jim Dunlop large like in my "avatar".

I live in Saskatchewan and the music stores here don't have any selection. Does anyone know of some other types of thumbpicks?I play in a really weird death metal band as well and some changes require me to fingerpick but i don't want to use the thumbpick for the rest of the song. I'm thinking that if i found a thumbpick that was a little less rigid I could use it all the time. I usually use these red nylon picks that feel like cat tongues and say brain on them. Just for electric.

Any suggestions? I'll have to order them, I was just hoping that someone might have a solution.