Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Using Modes in the same Key for Soloing

Lightbulb Using Modes in the same Key for Soloing

Hi guys!

New here, but decided to post in this subforum instead of NMZ, because it is music theory related.

My name is Igor, I've been making electronic music for 7 years, and also perform live: I play improvised dance music with modular synth, grooveboxes, drum machines, and stuff. I think I'll refrain from posting videos for now, because they may contain some enharmonic intervals (heheh) and I don't know if it's acceptable here or would get me banned.

The actual question is this... after neglecting it for quite some time, I decided to pick up a guitar again and get more... scientific with it, this is how I came across some articles like Introduction to Modes. Here's an excerpt (courtesy of guitarchords247):

If you are playing a piece in C major chord progression and keep playing C major scale over it, this will sound okay unless you start playing a mode based on the C major scale. If you play E Phrygian or F Lydian (these two modes are based on the C major scale) over this progression, you will not feel a significant difference in the resulting sound but if you play C Phrygian or C Lydian over this progression, you will immediately notice a shift in the overall mood created by these modes.