Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Simple Progressions But Can't Figure out Key Signature

Question Simple Progressions But Can't Figure out Key Signature

Hello all. Newbie here, sort of stuck/confused.

Here is a music theory question that I've tried to research online, but am finding it impossible to come up with helpful search terms. I have literally no formal music education (beyond junior high band), so please be gentle. :P

I have a few things I've written that I cannot figure out the key signature for. It's not that they have a bunch of accidentals (none, actually)... but rather that they just don't seem to fit a specific key.

Here's an example... one uses this chord progression Am7 -> C -> G6/B. Looping this progression and improvising the melody and/or lead ideas that "feel" right, I never use F, nor do I use F-sharp. They both just sound very wrong, regardless of how and where I try to work them in. (I experimented with a 1/4 step bend up from F, which was interesting, but still wrong.)

What the heck is going on? How can a relatively ordinary sounding chord progression lead to this "void" where nothing sounds right? Obviously, this could be notated as the key of C (Am), or G... but why do both F and F-sharp sound out of place?

Many thanks for any help understanding the theory behind this... or even just what the phenomenon is *called*, so that I can research it.
    Last edited by Digita1Man; 03-24-2017 at 02:57 PM. Reason: formatting was weird - no post preview on this forum?