Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Jazz Harmony Book

Jazz Harmony Book

Hi, allow me to give a little background into where I am now: I have been playing guitar for many years and did learn some theory independently. I know intervals very well, how scales and chords are made and the overlap between the two. I know the underlying principles of chord functions and what cadences/turnarounds are. I know about chord substitutionet al. So I'm not a complete novic. I also can read music and I know the fretboard notes and octave boundaries for a few tunings. That said I never really got into harmony. It just didn't click with me very much. Quite often I could understand the principles but it never really got to the application phase. I think the biggest problem for me is that I am a visual learner, and the harmony books I used - no disrespect to them, they were and are outstanding - were of the traditional type where four part writing for piano was the point of focus. I never could find a book that could give a guitar perspective, if you know what I mean. So, is there a harmony book that will teach you whilst illustrating these teachings on the fretboard. I know most people are not as slow as I am when it comes to theory, so I'm not holding my breath but I really woukd like to give this another shot. As the title suggests I am interested in learning from a Jazz perspective, as I've more recently developed a taste for it. Thanks for your time, any help greatly appreciated.

Regards,
    Mr.Fox