Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Help with intermediate steps?

Help with intermediate steps?

Hello All,

I'm a keyboard player and composer who has decided to get *great* relative pitch for a lot of reasons. Mainly I want to take melodic lines straight from my head onto paper/computer/instrument/wherever so I can use them to compose. I always composed with theory "on the staff" and made nice (but suprising) music, and I want more than that.

I am learning to hear tones functionally and as intervals, and have made a lot of headway that I am happy with. I use FET and some random interval trainer with nice sounds and a good interface. Why both methods? I like the idea of using the one that comes first for any given step, then checking it with the other (Alain Benbassat & Ron Gorow, two transcribers who I respect, seem to do this).

So, here's my first problem (and it seems common...). When I listen to intervals (in isolation) they sound different than in a phrase, and not only due to tonality, I think. I'd really like an interval trainer that played two notes, asked the interval, then played a third, asked the interval, then fourth, interval, etc rather that presenting a pair fragment every time. It'd be great for tonal memory and more "realisitic". I think people might see more success that way since that's how you have to relate tones in real music.