Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Application of the modes in melodic/harmonic minor harmony

Question Application of the modes in melodic/harmonic minor harmony

Hey all. I did a search but couldn't find the answer I'm looking for. This is my first post. I'm an intermediate guitarist of 12 years. Mostly self taught, picking up a lot more theory recently. Hopefully this is in the right section of the forum.

This IS a modes question, but it's a bit different:

I know my modes shapes (well) and to a decent extent how to apply them fairly well when used in basic major/minor harmony.

I learnt basic harmony, and how if you play the notes of a C major scale over D minor (and target the D), then it sounds Dorian. With E > Phrygian, etc.

Then after reading Chris Juergensen's article about rediscovering/superimposing the pentatonics, I realised a similar approach could be taken with the diatonic chords, superimposing them over other chords of the scale:

That is: In basic harmony, over the I, IV and V chords, you can play either ionian, lydian or mixolydian starting from the root note of those chords and it will sound good. Likewise, over the ii, iii and vi chords you can play either the aeolian, dorian or phrygian modes. I guess this is just 'pitch axis'.

So now the question is: I'm trying to apply this same logic to the melodic minor and harmonic minor parent scales, but it's not looking as simple. BTW apologies in advance if the way I notate chords etc is a bit off):

The melMin chords are:
    i minMaj7
    ii min7
    III maj7#5
    IV 7
    V 7
    vi min7b5
    vii min7b5