Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Learning Hendrix songs?

Learning Hendrix songs?

Hey guys!

I am not a beginner and I have been playing for years. Recently, I started trying to learn some Hendrix stuff, primarily Bold As Love. These songs are very difficult and it is hard to figure out which parts to learn. There is alot going on as far as guitar goes in these songs. How do you guys learn these songs? What is the process like? Thanks guys!

Blayze

You mean the lead parts, or the rhythm *and* the lead?

In a way, though a lot of Hendrix stuff is simple pentatonic, it's difficult because it's so unstructured. There's no metronome beat to follow the notes to. And the rhythm parts are so improvised and different each time that it's hard to spot the pattern within it. His famous "piano style" of rhythm is very loose in structure. It's easy to imitate the style, but hard to play it *exactly* as Hendrix did.

As far as learning to play it, just break it down into parts like anything else. So it's easier to digest in stages. Learn a part, then move onto the next.

One trivial thing I noticed about Bold As Love is it's the only time Hendrix plays a very straight ascending triplet pattern during the break part in the middle. I could be wrong, but he never did that ever again. It's funny how Page did the same triplet ascending pattern in Zep 1, but never repeated that either.

I would learn Hendrix songs the same way I learn any song:

1. Overall song structure and form.
    2. Chords, and maybe bass line.
    3. Melody of vocal, and/or guitar riffs. (Probably the latter would come first for Hendrix.)