Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Do I Have Perfect Pitch?

Do I Have Perfect Pitch?

So, for as long as I could remember, I've been able to identify, in isolation, any type of pitch and give the key of it. It can extend from such things as a piano, guitar, to random noises (sirens, doorbells, etc.). Every quiz that I take on the internet comes up as 100%, etc. If you need to know the key of a song, I can tell you (at least as far as my general chord knowledge goes, but even then, I can give you a root). I'm self-taught in piano and didn't take my first theory class until I was a freshman in college (a couple of years ago). It was a great class and very informative and I got a nice lesson in relative pitch, although I pretty much already knew it, despite not being taught, since I already knew the individual pitches. Though it was at this class that I discovered something very interesting...

Despite how I've always felt I've had perfect pitch throughout the years, whenever it came to melodic dictation, it wasn't as much of a breeze as I expected. Granted, I still finished before everyone else, but the notes didn't pop out to me like they would in isolation and sometimes I could just be flat out lost, but pretty much only due to the speed. If the teacher slowed it down, I could nail it, but I did have my problems. On the other hand, when I listen to actual music, for the most part, trying to figure out the pitch of, say, the melody that is being sung or even a solo... I'm usually lost.