Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Music Theory... where do I start?!

^_^

Music Theory... where do I start?!

Alright, here is the story.

I love music and creating it greatly interests me.

I have no instrumental experience.

In the past, I usually would open my music editing program (FL Studio) and start playing around with it, but I realized I was getting nothing out of it.

I finally took the time to looking into music theory. I went to www.musictheory.net and found a good amount of information, but I couldn't see how it helped me, except for giving me a lot of terminology.

Playing around with FL Studio and reading about basic music theory helped me in creating simple tunes, but they're way too plain and I'm not satisfied at all.

I can create simple chords, with simple melodies, but they sound so plain and I just know there is more to it.

Here are some questions that will give you a general idea of what I mean:

How can I create a nice sounding chord progression?
    How can I create more complex melodies?
    What and how can I make a song have an intro/build up/chorus etc?
    How can I make a nice sounding bass line that doesn't sound so plain.
    How do you usually start a song? Do you start with the chords, bass line?

These questions aren't necessarily made to be answered, but to give you a better understanding of what I'm trying to achieve. I know music theory has to have a great impact on this, this is why I'm attempting to explain what I mean and hopefully I can get a good amount of information from you guys!