Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Career advice

Career advice

Hi, I am hoping that someone can give me some career advice.
    I'm gonna make this as simple as I can.

I play the electric guitar. I have been playing by myself for about 9 years now. I am still at a beginner level. I want to learn a lot more on guitar playing. Some people ask me what grade I am. I seriously don't know what that means. I guess I have to pass some tests to be graded.

I want to learn guitar playing styles like Jazz, Blues and also a bit of Classical, and of course Rock and Heavy Metal. I want to have a good knowledge on different styles so that I can have all of them incorporated in my playing.

I also want to play the piano but that's not my main instrument. I feel that knowing a bit of piano can help me compose music. And I always felt that when I'm not playing the guitar I would like to sit down and relax while playing some piano, and maybe come up with some new ideas.

I want to become a great guitarist and also have some academic qualifications to show for it. I am looking for music colleges and universities. I will be moving to Birmingham UK or maybe I will be moving to somewhere in the USA soon.

I don't have any music qualifications and I don't meet the requirements of most Universities or Colleges. But I'm sure there are other institutes and programs within universities or colleges that someone like me could initially join in to.

I want to go to a place were they teach me music and guitar playing. Please suggest me schools or colleges or even universities that I can apply to. I just need some direction or some paths I can take. Tell me about my options.

Thanks.