Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Back to School

Back to School

I would love to hear from anyone out there in the ibreathmusic community that returned to music school later in life (like say in your late 20's or older). I'm 33 years old. I've been playing for 20 years. I attended GIT when I was 18, but, being young, stupid and ignorant, didn't get everything I could have out of the experience. By age 25 my band had fallen apart and I had started making some decent money with my day job in advertising. Fast forward a few years and I'm making really decent money in advertising but find myself creatively and spiritually unfulfilled as this career path has taken me away from my musical ambitions.

I'm now looking at my life and realizing that I want my career to be in music. Playing music and/or teaching music. I truly feel that I was put on this earth for that purpose. It's my passion. It's my calling and I can't ignore it any longer. I feel pretty strongly that my best path to that career will be returning to school for a degree in music. Alas, life presents many obstacles for me. I'm married and have a young daughter and second child on the way. So, obviously money is a big hurdle. I have to find a way to meet my family responsibilites while also being true to my heart and soul and pursuing a career in music.