Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Music career

Music career

Hi,

My name is Josh and im currently about to start a BTEC National Diploma in music technology. I really want to work in a studio maybe even own my own studio one day, but i also crave to be in a band im a talented guitarist and i want to go into a studio so i have an imcome of money while i get a band together. I know how to compose and read music, and i know many people go to uni to study music is this neccessary? I only thought uni was for people who want to compose classical music surely if your natually giffted theres no need to study music at uni, could any one help me or give me some advice?

many thanks

josh

Quote Originally Posted by josh1012
    I only thought uni was for people who want to compose classical music surely if your natually giffted theres no need to study music at uni, could any one help me or give me some advice?
    If you're naturally gifted at physics would it be a waste of time to study it at a tertiary level?

Having trouble with my gallbladder so I went to a surgeon, and noticed there were no diplomas on his wall. I ask him about that and he said; "O'h I never graduated from medical school, I'm just very talented and have a knack for this stuff."

My gallbladder was removed by a surgeon with lots of diplomas on his wall.

I'm not familiar with UNI or what it stands for, however, these days get as much education as you can, you will draw on that knowledge and the people you meet while in school for the rest of your life.
    Last edited by Malcolm; 06-19-2009 at 04:09 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by josh1012
    Hi,