Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Picking/Strumming Progressions

Picking/Strumming Progressions

Hello Ibreathemusic

I am a guitar player and I have been playing for around 4 years (see links at bottom), and I have always been influenced mainly by metal, although when i first started I enjoyed playing mostly bands like Offspring, Nirvana etc. And I really was drawn to picking ballads, which pulled me towards classical, and so on..

I write a lot of music, mostly "classical like stuff", and I love writing metal, but my problem is that firstly the structure of my music (im posting another thread), but what Im posting this thread for is my progressions, I can never break away from the triplets, or... I cant really explain what each progression I use because I have no knowledge on theory, but I cant seem to find better ones, I like to speed pick ALOT, but I think I could be using better progressions for some of the parts, but at the same time I want to sound original..

So I guess the question is, how can I learn to write my own progressions? is there something I can study in order to learn to create more unique progressions?... Thanks

And here is a link for just a few random aimless shred videos:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/dylanmatheson

And this is my myspace page for the "classical like stuff"
    http://www.myspace.com/dylanmathesonmusic
    My heart is pure like the snow riding the blizzards of my soul

I just answered this same question on another forum. Here is a cut and paste from that forum -- I think it may help.