Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Earplugs

Question Earplugs

I was wondering if anyone had any advice on earplugs like what's a good strength to use or what's a good website to get them, disposables against re-usables etc., that kind of stuff. I'm a drummer who has a really tiny room to practice in with no real sound proofing (parents don't want the room looking crap with eggboxes on the walls or something) and concrete walls.

I'm beginning to get signs of tinnitus (for a while now) so I started using 'Doc's pro plugs', but they didn't seem to do enough so I'm looking for something a bit more potent. I'm not really that bothered about hearing the drums exactly as they're supposed to sound, a bit of frequency distortion is fine, I just don't want to screw my ears up.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, or if there's already been a thread on this topic then could you point me in the right direction.

Cheers guys and gals.

Hi there...

I recommend to check out this site:
    http://www.hearsafe.com/

I donīt know if they offer international delivery, but their plugs are custom made ( they kinda measure your ear ), and soundwise they really are great... take away the volume, not the treble.

You should take crae of this immediately, because "signs of tinitus" are already a scary sign, and maybe you should stay away from rehearsing and seeing concerts until you have decent earplugs. Because once you actually do have a tinitus, you will have a hard time to get rid of it again. Most likeyl, youīll suffer from it for the rest of your life.