Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Writing chords to lyrics, and using scales over them.

Writing chords to lyrics, and using scales over them.

Okay guys, Im a song writer..So I write my lyrics then put chords to them.

Say..its a simple song...3 chords...G C D...The key I'm playing in would be?

Or say its...F C G..What would the key be?

I need to know how to find the key in a progression.

I know alot of scales, Major and minor pen. Along with alot of the blues scales. I can come up with licks out of these scales but have no idea how to put them to chords and make it sound right "in theory".

These are the problems im having. Can any of you point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Chevys&Gibsons

G C D = I IV V in the key of G
    Try also using Am, Bm, Em and D7

F C G = IV I V in the key of C
    Try also using Dm, Em, Am, and G7

I reckon Malcolm will post you a chart of all the keys so you can figure out why these chords work etc

Here goes ----
    http://www.traditionalmusic.co.uk/chords/chordchart.htm
    Write all the chords on a piece of paper, cross out the duplications, ignore the fancy extensions you are interested in only the structure part of the chord, i.e. is it C major, C minor or C diminished, now put them in alphabetical order. Now go find a key they all fit into. Upps ---- you need a key chart. Try the one I listed above.

As to the other questions you asked:

The chords in a key are based upon what notes are in the scale.

Interval....1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
    C scale = C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C