Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: can't play before warming up

can't play before warming up

whenever i pick up the guitar for the first time for the day, i can't play anything. after 15 min of warming up, i could play normally. i was wondering if this is normal.
    when i go play with someone, i go there without warming up, and i can't do anything at first, and the person im playing with is like wtf. i dont know if he warms up or not.

also, when someone comes to me and asks me to play something and i haven't played that day yet, i look like an idiot b/c i play like someone whos been playing for a month, and ive been playing for over 2 years.

just wondering if this is normal
    and when i say i cant play anything, i mean i cant play anything

thanks

hey man I am the same way and it is frustrating as hell. My fingers always seem to be incredibly sluggish before I warm up. I don't know if this post has been of any help, but I just thought I'd let you know that wer'e in the same boat on this one

yea thanks for the reply, i wasnt sure if it was just me.
    sometimes i practice in the morning and i feel great and i feel like ive gotten good practice for the day, and then like 10 hours later at night i get that feeling of just picking up the guitar and play some 10-note lick but i cant do **** and i feel so bad
    i wonder if ill ever able to pick up the guitar at any moment and play something decent

Hey, I used to have that problem too. Yes, I think its totally normal.

Yes, you need to warmup for at least 5 minutes before anything thats supposed to be taken seriously.