Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: in tune or out

in tune or out

Ok here's one for you all out there. I'm really new to electric guitar this is about the seventh week of playing or trying to. Something that is frustrating me at the moment amongst other things is that sometimes the chords i'm playing sound pretty much in tune and at other times they sound out of tune. Is this because i'm just a pure novice or am i doing something wrong? Is this just part and parcel of learning to play the guitar and the frustrations that go along with it.
    I know that learning to play is going to take time and believe me I could ask lots of questions at this early stage, but a little help and confidence building from some of you out there would sure go a long way. I'm sure most of you have been where i am now so you know how it feels.
    Also how do you get from playing individual chords to playing a series of chords that sound like a tune, .what i'm trying to say is how do you make the transition
    One other thing, i have pretty much normal sized fingers, not too fat and not too thin and yet i'm having trouble forming a B major chord (getting all three fingers underneath each other on the fifth fret). Has anyone else had this problem and will practice eventually overcome.

Thumbs down

Hi Hispania .

OK, first thing - make sure all the strings are properly in tune. Because if the top-E (say) is slightly out then some chords will sound seriously “off”. So just check that first.