Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Regarding Intervals

Regarding Intervals

Hi Friends !

My name is Kush and I'm from India. I'm a Guitar player and I've been teaching myself Fingerstyle Guitar for the last 8 to 9 months. To introduce myself as a Guitar player, I request you kindly have a look at the small video clips below - of my playing -

Tears In Heavn - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjpFP39TSOM
    Fur Elise - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50eyJM6tDRU
    Californication - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4Lm0GEqO9g

These are some of my clips, though I dont practice new arrangments these days as I'm completley into studying music thoery for some time...

So, Here's question - kindly help me by advicing regarding the same -

I know that a "Whole step" up from the Root note is a Major 2nd, 3 Half-steps above the Root is a Minor 3rd etc etc... but what is the Interval called when I go down from the root ? Say I god a whole step down the root, then what is this called ?

What is this situation - is it to be considered like a descending interval ? or Does this have a name of its own ?

Kindly advice Friends...
    Take care and Have a Great Day !
    Lots of Regards
    Kush

Welcome to IBM

whether you are going up or down, it doesn't matter, the interval name stays the same. If you go up a whole step it's a Maj 2nd. If you go down a whole step it's a Maj 2nd.

Think of it this way. If you go from C down to Bb, you could easily turn around and go Bb to C right? Well you know that Bb to C is a Maj 2nd, so the oppososite is exactly the same. Now, if you were to go from Bb down to C, that would be a different interval (a min 7th)