Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: 24 Bar Blues

24 Bar Blues

Hi Everyone,

My name is Dick and my friends all call me Tes. That is short for my last name of Tesnow. I have been playing guitar for about 12 years, but this is the first time I have ever been interested in playing live. I have played and recorded some tunes at my house with some guys that are all into the blues and blues/rock. What I do not know how to do is solo over a 24 bar blues. I know that may seem stupid with me knowing how to solo over a 12 bar blues, but I want to make a great first impression on this new band and our first practice is next Thursday. I have a particular song that is bothering me as to how to solo over. It is "Shame, Shame, Shame" by Indigenous. It is a 24 bar blues in A with a SRV feel to it. The other guitar player in the band plays a Strat and uses a Wah Wah pedal on this song. I have a Strat, Les Paul, and an ES335 to play. I am looking for help and ideas for this song mainly.

I play through a Marshall TSL 601 and have an Ibanez Tube Screamer and just about an hour ago bought a Line 6 Roto Machine to simulate a Leslie Speaker.

For those of you in the know, would you solo over this song using the Min. Pent., Blues Scale, Major Pent. or what? This song just has me befuddled. Nothing I played last night sounded good at all. The licks that the band Indigenous does sounds a great deal like SRV, but even though I can play stuff like Pride and Joy, I sucked at this song. Please offer any suggestions. Any and all ideas are more than appreciated.

I look forward to hearing from you and I hope I can be of help here someday as well.

Tes