Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: Guitar Grimoire and other questions: Chords, music theory etc

Guitar Grimoire and other questions: Chords, music theory etc

I recently purchased the Guitar Grimoire Volume 1, Scales and Modes. I am new to music theory and this book really helped me understand the intervals so far. I am getting very frustrated figuring out how chords are formed. I would appreciate if someone could go over some examples from the book as to how they are formed. The book does show one example, but I'm still not 100% clear on this.

Is the guitar grimoire a good starting point for learning music theory?

My problem is that I know a few scales but I just can't quite connect everything. I don't know what chords are in a key and I don't know which scales go to which chords. I am desperately trying to learn.

I had previously purchased a guitar book by bruce arnold for theory but I found his explanations of the intervals hard to understand. It seems to be a lot more clear in the guitar grimoire.

Thanks in advance for any help!

as far as I'm concerned, the grimoire isn't all its cracked up to be. its best use is as a reference book, if there is a certain scale you need to get under your fingers.

however, i would learn the theory and how to use and apply those scales, chords, etc elsewhere.
    - Dave

quote by cardello
    as far as I'm concerned, the grimoire isn't all its cracked up to be. its best use is as a reference book, if there is a certain scale you need to get under your fingers.
    I agree with cardello about the grimoire series, the whole series is designed to be a reference series.

quote by james82