Welcome!
Just a few a ground rules first...

Promotion, advertising and link building is not permitted.

If you are keen to learn, get to grips with something with the willing help of one of the net's original musician forums
or possess a genuine willingness to contribute knowledge - you've come to the right place!

Register >

- Close -

Thread: How do I improve?

How do I improve?

This may have been addressed elsewhere but I couldn't find it with a search.

I have reached a plateau with my blues playing and cannot find a method to advance. I've been practicing almost everyday for 18 months and have learned scales, blues scales, several lead riffs, playing in different keys, 12 bar blues, blues shuffle, cut shuffle, boogie, chord progressions (I, IV, V) in different keys and a lot more of the basics.

I have been trying unsuccessfully to improve, pick up speed, make runs up and down the neck, and just plane "sound better" with bends, pull-offs, vibratos, etc.

Aside from practice, practice, practice ... how do you break through to that next level when you have reached a plateau? I have had no luck in finding other guitarists locally to practice and jam with.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Hi,

try to find a band to play with, get yourself into a real playing situation and apply all that you have learned.

Also try to change your approach to practicing. I don't know how you practice so I can't really give any detailed advice on this. Do you learn tunes ? If not, do it, if youR'e into blues learn tunes by BB King, albert King, Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Robben Ford .... etc. Also check out some jazz players playing the blues (Wes Montgomery, Grant Green, George Benson, Kenny Burrell ...)
    Like different types of blues players.

You also might want to check out some other musical styles : Rock, Pop, Funk ...

Basically : try to find something new that interests you and dig into it !

Good luck !

Lars