PDA

View Full Version : trouble with Fm barre chord

Patrick
01-29-2003, 01:15 AM
I've been playing for about 5 months, going through the Guitar For Dummies book. I got to the E-based F barre chord. After a few days, I finally got it (surprising since the book says it's a very difficult chord for beginners).

But now I'm on the E-based F minor chord; the same as F major barre chord but with the second finger lifted. My problem is that the third (G) string doesn't ring properly because it's not pushed down enough by the barring index finger.

My fingers are about average length, but skinny.

Should I just press down harder and squeeze with my thumb to help increase pressure? Or should I try moving my index finger to slightly differeent positions?

Thanks in advance.

Zatz
01-29-2003, 03:28 PM
Patrick,

I guess the problem is that G string gets placed between your forefinger joints and hence is pressed down not so firmly as the rest of the strings. The outer side of this finger is a bit more straight and you could twist your left wrist slightly clockwise to enable better grip.
This is easier to do using fore-, ring and little finger just to start off:

|-1-|---|---|
|-1-|---|---|
|-1-|---|---|
|-1-|---|-4-|
|-1-|---|-3-|
|-1-|---|---|

Anyways, don't worry about it - it just takes time, sometimes there's no logic in it, just practice.

Ultra mega best regards,
Zatz.

metallibeast
01-29-2003, 04:12 PM
What's up?

I've seen some people put their middle finger on top of their index finger to help play this kind of chords. After a while, when your index finger gains more strength, you probably won't need to use your middle finger anymore.

Good luck

-Beast

Patrick
01-31-2003, 09:55 PM
Thanks for the replies. After a few days, I'm starting to get it. It's one of those things that, if you keep at it, you eventually get it, even though you don't know how.