PDA

View Full Version : Fretboard Pattern Overload

Bongo Boy
01-04-2003, 11:35 PM
As a beginner I find that most every book I pick up entitled "Beginning Guitar", "Yes, You Can Play Guitar", "Guitar for Total Idiots", "Guitar for the Million", etc., generally has a raft-load of scales in it. In every case the book shows the fretboard pattern for some particular C maj or E min pentatonic scale etc.

None of this changes the fact that there are many places and patterns on the fretboard to play any given scale, and I guess the number of 'patterns' and their starting points seems endless. It's clear to me that, at least for ME, it's unlikely I'm going to memorize all this AND be able to use it when I need it.

So...question is, how have you guys learned to be comfortable with the fretboard...to know your way around it, so to speak. I'm thinking this is the No. 1 obstacle to learning guitar. It's a pain in the *** compared to say, woodwinds or hell, even brass.

I'm thinking that all of you had to deal with this impasse at some point--the seemingly overwhelming options of the guitar fretboard. Any advice, wizards?

Bongo Boy
01-04-2003, 11:40 PM
Here's a somewhat related question, posed in my characteristically weird, and long-winded way.

If I were to randomly stick my finger on any selected string and fret of your guitar, how long would you have to think about what note that represented, or, what steps (if any) would you have to mentally run thru to get the answer?

szulc
01-04-2003, 11:40 PM
http://www.ibreathemusic.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=180&highlight=mnemonic

This is one way I am sure I posted more about this.

Bizarro
01-05-2003, 12:08 AM
Hmmm...

First you should start to memorize the notes on the fretboard. This might take awhile (flashcards and so on might help), so work on the next points in parallel.