PDA

View Full Version : I suck.

sixstrings121
04-06-2005, 04:56 AM
Hey guys, really big problem. First of all, When writing songs, I can never write a progression that has more than 2 chords. Alllll my songs only use 2 chords in a progression. I dont know why, they just come out that way. I cant seem to fit any more chords in that sound good (besides I IV V and such but i dont wanna use that). I think it is much easier to write progression on pianos for some reason. Perhaps because you can see how the chords lead to one another, but still Im not very good at it. How do you guys go about writing progressions?

Another thing, When I write songs, I can never fit 2 parts together. Nothing seems to go with the first part at all. I just feel like I suck and Im helpless at writing songs. Help please.

Thanks again

Zatz
04-06-2005, 05:56 AM
Try to concentrate on melody, put those progressions aside for a while. Make an arrangement without backing and then come up with chords behind it. If chord progression is what your songwriting is usually based upon, do venture to start from something else. If it's harmonizing issue - theory might come handy here.

As to joining 2 parts together you'll need appropriate chord sequence in the end of the bridge to lead back to the main part. I suggest that you give an example and we'll think of the way out together ;)

Anyways, don't worry - it's just the matter of experience.

sixstrings121
04-06-2005, 06:37 AM
yeah see I have lots of songs writen, but they almost all consist of 2 chords (or altered chords of the same chord). Ive tried the melody approach, but the melody works with 2 chords as well lol. Im probly ganna post an example later on powertab. Thanks for the help

UKRuss
04-06-2005, 08:13 AM
Maybe try using some of the minor chords to get you to the next chord and the like. Think progression.

Nothin wrong with a I IV V

Then using say the ii and iii to get you to the IV

Mateo150
04-06-2005, 05:06 PM