PDA

View Full Version : I've got this weird "problem" !!!!!!!!!!!!

6StringShredder
01-06-2005, 09:08 AM
Hello,

I'm in a cover band, and I'm an average guitarist. Not great, and my lead work sucks. I'm the only guitarist in the band. I put myself in this position because it would force me to be better, because I would be the only one playing leads and rhythm.

My "problem" is this. We play typical modern rock stuff, nothing to complicated, which is good because I couldn't play Black Star or Satch Boogie. I put on a pretty good show. I don't make mistakes, the songs are played by the band and I almost perfect compared to the original, and the crowd is happy and entertained. By all accounts everything seems fine.

However, in my mind I'm always thinking "You SUCK, you are playing the same stupid pentatonic BOX leads, too much pick noise on the strings, oh you didn't mute that right, your thumb shouldn't be there, the guitar strap is too long, whats the finger noise between chord changes (when you switch from one chord to the next and hear a little squeaking sound", oh you really f'd that up, etc.

Basically, I can't play the guitar either live or by myself without MENTALLY CRITICIZING EVERYTHINGGGGGGGG I MEAN EVERYTHING, THAT I DO!!!!

I've been playing for 5-6 years and most people think I'm good, but I've got a really low self image of my playing. It's like I'm just waiting for something bad to happen just so I can criticize it. I see friends of mine who aren't that good play, but they just play with reckless abandon. When I play I feel so technical that if I hit a wrong note (or one out of key) that someone is holding a loaded gun to my head ready to shoot me!

Is there anything I can do?

Thanks

UKRuss
01-06-2005, 10:50 AM
Remain calm.

It's a confidence thing. Nothing wrong with being self critical as long as you continue to enjoy what you're doing.

Try to focus on your strengths when playing live and practice on your weaknesses when your alone.