PDA

View Full Version : gypsy right hand

hhold
10-28-2002, 07:54 PM
Hi boys and (I hope) girls,
I've been listening to some gypsy music lately as Django Reinhardt, Bereli Lagrene but also excellent band Bratsch. If I manage to figure out the chords ( more and less) I have terrible difficulties with the right hand strumming particularly that guitar effect ( rolls I think they're called) those Gypsies guitarist do .:confused:
do any of you have some practice tips before i throw my accoustic guitar out of the window out frustration.
Thanks,
hhold
P.S. bravo for the site particularly for the sofege theory section: very instructing...;)

Gombakgitar
12-23-2004, 03:48 PM
Hello friend, I'm a beginner with Django and this type of style. I in fact don't own any Django CDs or tapes. I would however very much like to know more and engage myself with all things Django.

Have you any suggestions on how I should start ?

TheCurse
12-24-2004, 12:55 AM
Im not familiar with the exact piece your referring to but he was probably doing what is called a rasquiado (sp). its a spansish style technique where you continuosly strum the strings with your hand sort of 'rolling' back and forth and each finger doing the strumming in sequence.
ill do my best to explain how it goes mechanically but i have a feeling its gonna be hard to put into words.

sit with your guitar in playing position.
hold your strumming hand ( no picks used in this ) directly in front of your guitar over the soundhole, a half inch above the strings about, and make a loose but firm fist.
now one at a time, fire your fingers open from that fist, starting with your pinky. each finger striking (strumming) the strings as it fires open from your fist. leave the finger extended after it flys out, so after you do this with four fingers you end up with your four fingers extended but your thumb still folded down into your hand.