PDA

View Full Version : weird pain

foofighter7447
10-28-2002, 05:40 AM
Hello, my name is Ben, I'm 17 and i've been playing guitar for 2 years now. I have a concern which is making me feel uneasy. Recently I started to learn to tremolo pick, and i'm learning to fret a lot faster and pick a lot faster than before. Yet i get little shocks in my right arm, very tiny ones, mostly around my shoulder blade and deltoid. I am wondering if this is a real problem, or if this is just pain associated with "pushing the threshold" of my ability, or getting used to something new. Or possibly are there a couple of twitch nerves that need to be freed up through muscular development. The best way i can describe the pain is like this. When you workout, and you start curling, you get little sharp pains in your elbow joint when you curl heavy dumbells. After I curled for a while, the pain went away and obviously that was just painful because it was new. So is it the same issue here with the guitar, that its just a new movement getting used to, or am i doing something seriously wrong and injurious? If so, how long should i put the guitar down and rest for until its safe to pick it up again, because i don't wanna develop anything chronic or further hurt myself. Thanks a lot

-ben

metaljustice83
10-28-2002, 05:54 AM
well the rule of thumb that i always use that is if it is dull keep going. But if it is sharp wait awhile and if it is sharp next time wait awhile and repeat.

N.P Ozzy Osbourne Live at the BUdokan :p

Guni
10-28-2002, 08:59 AM
Hi Ben,

In my experience most problems arise from the back. I once had serious problems too. To overcome this I analyzed what I was doing with / to my body while playing, actually while practicing (a mirror really helped me with this)