PDA

View Full Version : Hi All

steve0192
06-23-2004, 06:39 PM
Hi Everyone,

I thought I'd better introduce myself, so here goes.

I'm 38 now, I started playing the guitar at 5, so I find it hard
to remember when I didnt play.

I've been classically trained and took lessons from 5 to when
I finally left university ~ all in a classical style.

I'd always loved rock and blues. I got my first electric at 12
then realised that this was a very different instrument to the
classical guitar.

I exclusively used a pick for the first few years of playing the electric
but missed the tools and techniques that my classical training brought
to the floor. I found that I just didnt have the speed and accuracy that
came for free when I played finger style.

By 16 I'd fused my classical and rock style to a degree that I nolonger
used a pick at all, and that is how I've played ever since.

I went through a real shredding phase when Yngwie etc started to
appear, but it's not a style that I've carried through. However
once you done the work in aquiring those types of techniques,
they dont ever really leave you, and it's nice to be able to drop
those kind or runs into my playing ~ especially when most peoples
idea of finger style electric guitar starts and ends with Mark
Knopfler.

I'll look forward to talking to you all. and contributing to the
forums.

Regards

Steve

Zatz
06-23-2004, 07:28 PM
Steve!

Welcome to IbreatheMusic!

You've had a good deal of training and you seem to have to share a lot. See you on the forums!

Looking forward to meeting you around!

Warm regards,
Zatz.

mjo
06-23-2004, 07:39 PM
Hi Steve, welcome !

I'm, also looking forward to your participation in the forums

-best
:Mike

Black_the_Sky
06-23-2004, 08:56 PM
Welcome Steve.. I envy your starting at 5. I started 3 years ago at 31 after my wife bought me a guitar as a surprise anniversary gift.