PDA

View Full Version : New Guy!!

SLIKNICK22
09-27-2002, 12:54 AM
HEY! I JUST STARTED PLAYING AND I HAVE BEEN READING ALL THESE MAGAZINES WITH ALL THESE WAYS TO PLAY. WHAT SHOULD I START OFF WITH? LIKE STRUMMING OR PICKING ITS JUST REALLY CONFUSING. THANKX:)

Bongo Boy
09-27-2002, 02:36 AM
Welcome to one of the best-staffed, most active forums on the web, and certainly my personal favorite. I started with guitar in May..and it's been an incredible journey so far.

What sort of guitar are you using (acoustic, electric, classical, etc)? Just curious.

Being a beginner myself, I'll only recommend some things I feel are boring yet critical:

Set aside a place to practice that has:

a) a place to put your guitar (a stand or a case)
b) a place to put your music (a stand)
c) a place to put your butt (a chair or stool)

Then, from the source of your choice, learn how to hold the guitar for practice. Books, online lessons, instructors, this forum will all help with this.

Then, most important of all, decide to practice regularly and frequently (not for hours at a time, probably), that you will make progress at whatever rate you make progress.

I kinda think it's our choice to become frustrated and angry--and our choice not to. If you're serious, you will come up against these beasts eventually--you may want to give some thought now to how you will deal with them when they appear on the scene!!

bluecollarman
09-27-2002, 03:16 AM
Recommend you also check out Guitar Principles (http://www.guitarprinciples.com) for a great method of learning guitar.

Guni
09-27-2002, 07:55 AM
Do you actually refer to the articles that are available online or are you talking about Jamey's book? I haven't had a chance to check it out up to now. If you are talking book could you give us a quick rundown ....