PDA

View Full Version : its getting me down why am i crap

luke_hull
03-14-2004, 11:06 AM
Hey guys erm I was wondering if any one had any advise for me as I have been playing guitar for about 6 months and get lessons and so do my friends, they havenít been playing as long but there learning all this theory and are getting much better than me. Also when we jam they rip good solos and mine are crap manly because I cart think what to do or because Iím hitting dead notes or been really clumsy and the more I mess up the more I think there laughing at me and it really gets me down. I just think like quitting so any advise would be appreciated thanks :confused:

VitoBrata
03-14-2004, 11:30 AM
Hey Luke,

Personnaly id recomend learnig the pentatonic scale in all five postions as this will provide a solid basis for you to begin soloing with. If your teacher has not already introduced you tro this scale then i would definatley ask him about it becuase it is in my opinion, THE most important scale in Rock guitar(which i assume is your preffered style). Try learning 2 patterns per week, and attempt to improvise using these patterns. There are thousands of well known licks availiable that are based around this scale ad learning a few more licks will only beneift you when it comes to SOLO time. In terms of technique and hitting dead notes, well try and takes things slow and focus on being as accurate as possible. If you practice hammer-ons,pull-offs,slides and bending, then you will feel much more confident when navigating the fretboard...

Hope this helps and remember, If your willing to put in the time, rewards will come quicker than you can imagine.:)

flathead
03-14-2004, 03:18 PM