PDA

View Full Version : Questions regarding instructional materials

stevenaa
01-21-2004, 08:33 PM
Hello all...I'm brand new to this forum, but not to guitar playing, and I have a question that I want to throw out to everyone concerning study materials that might help me take my playing to the next level. A little background, I've been playing guitar for 24 years, have at times between the ages of 16 and today, supported myself as a performing musician for extended periods, and played a gamut of styles from classic rock and folk/rock to alt/pop. Over all those years, I was mainly a vocalist/songwriter and used the guitar as a supporting instrument, but I want to take my playing up a few notches. I'm completely self-taught and have only rudimentary understanding of theory. I've purchased dozens of books and video tapes, but nothing has ever done me a lick of good in understanding the guitar better or improved my musicianship. I've only gotten better through sporadic, random and mysterious bursts of improvement. Any ideas on what might work? I can't read music at all and have even struggled with making sense of tab. I guess the only thing I have going for me is my ear!

P.S. I'm almost completely focused on acoustic guitar these days, although my ES-335 still gets dusted off everyone once in awhile.

All thoughts in helping me attain my goals appreciated and welcome!

mjo
01-21-2004, 10:17 PM
Hi, stevenaa
Welcome ! This is a great place to learn......and find inspiration.
As for your question, it might help to know, more specifically how you want to improve.
Do you want to "shred", play some 4 part, or extended chords, simple melodies, all of the above ?
........I, just don't want to offer any meaningless, or confusing advice.

Cheers !
Mike

stevenaa
01-21-2004, 10:32 PM
Thanks Mike! I'm looking to improve in the following areas:

Core/base understanding of theory and the fretboard
Understanding notation and tab
Comprehension of scales and modes