PDA

View Full Version : I'm hitting a mental wall...

Lowthorpe
01-06-2004, 10:28 PM
Wasn't sure wether to post this here, or the Practice & Peformance forum, but here goes.

I've been playing guitar for almost 6 months now, progressing steadily, with a good teacher, learnt a wide selection of bar chords/chords, learnt a selection of riffs/solos, developed my techniques a bit, in things such as alternate picking etc.. About 2 months ago, I started improvising, after learning the blues scale, and I now know it in 3 positions, the major pentatonic, and some of the major scale patterns. Quite recently, I've come into a problem with my improvising, where, I just cannot think what to do :O I end up just playing random notes on the scale, or play the scale up and down with bends, hammer-ons, vibrato in certain places.

I know, I've only been playing 6 months, I don't expect to be some genious, I'd just like to know how to utilize my practice time to maximise my...improvising abilty. :P Some people have told me that I should have patience, and that it will eventually come to me, while others have said learn more songs, solos and such, listen to different music types, should help. Others have said use licks from different songs and incorporate them into improvising. Just wondering what I can do ;)
Thanks in advance,
Nick

Bizarro
01-07-2004, 05:00 AM
I think you should learn some solos you really like and analyze why you like them. Your instructor should be able to help with this. It will help you understand why certain notes sound better than others in a chord progression.

Also, learn as many licks as you can. Make up your own too. Then practice applying these licks when improvising.

You should also try copying melodies from songs by ear. Play the vocal lines on guitar. Start with stuff like Happy Birthday and work your way up!

Good luck!
:D

sweetious
01-07-2004, 05:25 AM