PDA

View Full Version : strumming ^ v ^ v help

crimson.hammer
11-25-2003, 01:39 PM
Hello everyone, greetings from Norman, Oklahoma! Home of the SoONErs!

First I want to say that I have been browsing this board for a couple of days, and I have found literally TONS of very helpful information. Thanks!

My story:

I have been playing the guitar for about a year now. I should preface this with I have no music theory, background - (except the recorder in the 3rd grade, about 25 years ago) and I am entirely self taught. Read: not very good yet.

Anyway, I have the baics down, I know quite a few chords, including the biggest revelation I had with Barre chords a few months ago, which made the guitar FUN!

I have both an acoustic and an electric, and am s - l - o - w - l - y improving. I am learning the fretboard (Fretboard Logic I and II) and just started learning about intervals (about time eh?) and modes and scales. I found a lot of good information on this site alone at the recommendation by several of the resident experts.

I have a few weak areas which need improving, but let me just start with one that is really bothering me.

Strumming Strumming

My feeling is that this should be pretty easy to settle into, but it is working the opposite direction. Almost to the point where i have to concentrate so much on the right hand, that I lose my left hand dexterity, smoothness and timing.

I can tell you guys this. My wrist and arm are tense when I play, whether I am fingerpicking or strumming. I don't know if it because I am feeling rushed to get the next beat, or feel as I have to use a lot of force to hit the strings, or some other reason. Anyway, as you can imagine, the buzz, and tense sound that comes out when I play is not as smooth or sultry as I would like it to be. (can I end a sendtence with a verb here? :)

Is there anything that I can do to relax while I strum, maybe some sort of exercise (phycal or mental) ? Or some kind of position change that migh thelp?