PDA

View Full Version : Playing Bass & Improving Guitar Skills?

Tune2B
11-18-2003, 09:07 AM
Hi everyone!
2 Quick questions:
1. Will playing bass help guitar skills as well ( I want to play guitar at the end, I am begginer its been 5 months since i started playing). I just love to play around with bass every once in a while. Play few song by Newsted. or do bass parts in songs that i like.
Will that help the guitar skills as well, or is it going to mess up everything since they are playing a bit differently?
2. Is it possible to use guitar amp for a bass guitar as well.

jov
11-18-2003, 10:24 AM
Hi!

I think playing bass will strengthen your fingers and it
forces you to practise longer stretches, so it will probably help
your guitar playing too.. but what is more important, in my
opinion, playing different instruments will definitely help your
musical skills.

Regards
jov

forgottenking2
11-18-2003, 02:14 PM
Hey there,

Playing bass will help you improve not just because of the fact that you have to stretch more, work on alternate picking, skip strings and what not, but it will also give you a better idea of how a bass should sound like... a lot of guitarists get sometimes so focused in their own instrument that when they write songs, they do intrincate lead parts that only very skilled guitarists would be able to perform but they leave the rhythm section absolutely plain (I know I did it, in one of my first songs the rhythm guitar and the bass did nothing but 8th notes throughout the whole thing) If you adventure to other instruments you'll get more in touch with them and your songwritting skills will improve. So my advice is go for it.

I hope this helps.

Regards,

Koala
11-18-2003, 02:56 PM
Plus, youre going to feel so comfortable and agile when you grab a guitar thats lighter and smaller. I just love that effect lol :)
And it will definitely make you a well rounded player.

Thorsten
11-18-2003, 03:28 PM