PDA

View Full Version : new here

thejuo
10-29-2003, 12:15 AM
hey, I just signed up to this board. Just wanted to say hi. I've been playing since 96, and am self taught.

I joined this board because I'm looking to improve my skills. I remember a time when I first started jamming with friends I learned at such a rapid pace. Now I find myself plateu-ing quicker and becoming more bored with my ability, and sometimes even get disgusted with the way I'm playing. I know it is not the best to try to teach yourself, but I was happy with the quick results and how I was sounding. NOW I want to unlearn everything because I feel like I'm stuck. I feel like I'm not improving. My brain seems to move quicker than my fingers and I can't transpose what I'm hearing in my head quick enough. My skill level at guitar and what I know about guitar do not match up. Anybody have any suggestions for practice, for perfect precision, for improving after probably learning everything the wrong way?

Thanks,

Looking forward to participating in this board

Koala
10-29-2003, 01:30 AM
hey thejuo welcome to ibreathe, for starters i dont believe you must unlearn anything at all, all this takes i perectin stuff. As of where to begin, youve come to the right place here at IBM you can find loads of articles ranging from theory, to technique, to tone to attitude, plus youve got these forums where most the time somone can answer your questions.

Welcome aboard!!!!

SillyCone
10-30-2003, 12:02 AM
Originally posted by thejuo
My skill level at guitar and what I know about guitar do not match up. Anybody have any suggestions for practice, for perfect precision, for improving after probably learning everything the wrong way?
Hi there, and welcome on ibreathemusic.com !

You'll like it here, loads of nice ppl with plenty of nice advice.