PDA

View Full Version : new vocabulary

SillyCone
08-25-2003, 02:39 PM
Hello there,

I've discovered this site a few weeks ago (by reading Guni's excellent -no !- amazing articles about intervals, chords, scales and modes, which I finally understood after many months of struggle online to find some consistent and complete info). I loved the atmosphere on the forums too so I spent some time reading them. Now is the time to express myself :)

I've been playing guitar (classical and electric) for 4 months now, and I'm still wondering about some basic terms in english (my mother language is french) that you mainly use in the electric world (by opposition to the classical world).

Could someone give me some insight about the following words and their relationships :
chops, licks, solos, chorus, verse, shred, legato ?

Also, about abreviations, I guess that PA means Power Amp, PG means Paul Gilbert, and 3NPS means 3 notes per string ? Or am I totally wrong ?

Last topic : I just read Bongo Boy's excellent explanation about power amps, but I still need some light : what is exactly a cabinet ? a "standard" amp (or are all amps power amps ?), a pre-amp ? I guess my little Fender Frontman 15W has a pre-amp, a power amp and a cabinet included ?

Thanks for all your wisdom :)
SillyCone.

Cuno
08-25-2003, 09:58 PM
Hi there SillyCone, welcome to the forums!

Yep, the abbreviations are right, although PG has always been Peter Gabriel in my world :) (ok, i think iŽve mentioned this before...)

Here are my interpretation of the words:
1. chops
Can mean almost anything related to how one plays, -'HeŽs sure got some chops', meaning he can play pretty well, or versatile, or both.

2. licks
Small melodies learned in advance that one can rely on for soloing, etc - 'small melody snippets'. Most good players have a bunch of them to use in their improvisations for some extra spice.

3 solos