PDA

View Full Version : Composition

Beavis
07-11-2002, 03:08 PM
Hi there guys i am new here and i really like this site i have been a lurker for sometime now.

Ok i have a bit of trouble, I have been playing guitar for 6 years, i have attended the Guitar Institute and have had lessons from day one.

Now my technique is pretty damn good, months and years of grooming have enabled me to play alot of technical stuff, but this isn't my problem, my problem is being a musician. I don't know how i don't know how to appreciate or write music, i feel like a robot. Inspiration is minimal because its been supressed by years of wanting to play faster (i'm now seeing the light and that speed isn't everything) so i haven't recorded anything for years, i used to be happy in out rock band 4 years ago banging out 3 chord songs. Now i am not happy with anything i write. It all seems so simple and shallow. Now depth or soul and its always just wrong. Now i see people around me writing instrumental rock guitar an they sound cool. Not neccesarily lots of technique but their melodies are interesting. Their songs go somewhere. Vai, Malmsteen, Becker, Howe, Kotzen etc how do they do it. I don't know.

Frankly i am stuck, and have been for 6 months i am finding it harder and harder to play because it becoming more difficult to write stuff and thus pointless playing.

So i am asking you guys for some advice. I want to write stuff, i just am never happy with the noise i make. I want to know how to create certian moods. Drum patterns, Bass lines, how to approch melody. (they don't teach this at guitar institute)

How do i become a muscian again

Cheers

Beavis

szulc
07-11-2002, 11:46 PM
What do you listen to?
If you are listening to Fast Stuff you will want to play fast stuff.
Isn't it interesting that we never judge a singer by how fast he/she can sing?
Make your self play a nylon string for a while without a pick.