PDA

View Full Version : Song recommendations

moschops
08-13-2003, 11:07 AM
Hi guys.

I feel like a bit of a goon asking this, but I'm having difficulty selecting tunes to learn. You would think that the usual answer of "play stuff that you like" would be enough, but when I do that I am ending up with stuff that's either too simple or too hard.

I've been playing for 6 months or so and have just invested in an electric axe (and a distortion pedal - what awesome fun they are), and I can play all the basic open chords quite well, and also play the major shaped barre chords and power chords fairly well. This allows me to play a lot of songs that just require chords, and that's great.

But I've also started doing a few scales and exercises and things, and now that I have an electric I want to start playing more melodic type stuff - riffs, licks etc. So the kind of songs I want are some which feature distinctive riffs, preferably with a few hammers, slides etc, and also with a few chords (or double stops, power chords, whatever) mixed in. The overall effect I'm looking for is something that sounds melodic, full, and let's be honest, rocks!

I like most rock music, the harder the better. Some of the stuff I've been trying: Guns & Roses, Chilli Peppers, Metallica, Nirvana (probably the only stuff that I can play well), System of a Down.

I've just been finding that either some of the single string stuff gets too tricky, or that it is too basic. It could be the case that I'm just giving up too quickly, but I'm sure there must be some tunes out there that are a real joy to learn and play.

Oh, and I like to sing a bit too, kind of like Scott Stapp of Creed(I wish!), so anything that fits in nicely with those kind of vocals would be great.

Many thanks for any suggestions/advice.

Shaman_Santana
08-13-2003, 08:29 PM