PDA

View Full Version : Directions

Snap
07-15-2003, 01:55 PM
Hey there everyone,

I've been playing the guitar for almost three years now and i find myself just learning songs and then playing it
which in the past gave me really great satisfactions. However now , i feel like i'm just not progressing as a guitar player .
What i really like to do is to be able to improvise the songs that i've learnt and playing it with my own intepretations rather than impersonating someone else or hopefully write my own songs .
I've been practising scales ,doing work on music theory checking out ur website and some other websites with lessons but it seems like i'm just aimlessly accumulating informations.
I hope you guys could provide some suggestions to help me find my direction.
Thanks!

Rick

Koala
07-15-2003, 03:13 PM
Well i believe most of us, if not all of us started playing by copying stuff off other recordings, its a fantastic way to start and well you got gazillions of songs to choose from in different styles and different skill levels.

he next step could be to reinterpret them in your very personal way, but what i realy recommend you do is sit down with your guitar and just play. Dont start playing any of the songs you know, look for other directions, other styles , other tempos and from there start working on your own ideas.

loveguitar
07-16-2003, 02:34 AM
hi Snap,

I am from the same place as you. I also face the same problem as you do, if not more.

I don't play from song to song, not because I don't want to but because I am stuck in one song. Every time when I start playing, it sounds so bad to me that I have to play again, and again and again. That's why I am stuck.

Then I realise my fundamentals sucks. My bending and vibrato are weak and unstable. So I spend hours doing my basics, especially the vibrato and bending. Hoping to get a vibrato sound that I "visualize".