PDA

View Full Version : Learning Keys Again

Rocker3829
11-11-2008, 03:35 AM
I've really been contemplating picking up keyboard again (did a few years back in middle school but my heart wasn't into it back then, it was about the chicks :-) and have decided to give it a shot. Being a guitar player who has a decent knowledge of theory, what would y'all recommend I do to start getting back into keyboard? I'm thinking along the lines of getting a book and getting the basic keyboard techniques down again along with applying chords and the basic major scales back under my fingers. The keyboard I currently have is the same one I had back ten years ago, a cheap Casio 49 key 4 octave keyboard, but it should be good enough to get me started once again. Again, what do y'all recommend?

Malcolm
11-11-2008, 02:52 PM
Took up keyboard about a year ago. Banjo, Acoustic and Electric guitar before that. Here is the road I've taken, for what that is worth.

This road is all self taught, but if you want to play beautiful classical music by rote then there is probably a lady teaching that just down the block. However, that way will not help you play Happy Birthday with out the sheet music. I choose not to go that route and enjoy being able to wing Happy Birthday with out sheet music. If you feel this same way I'd suggest you invest in the book. How to play the piano despite years of lessons by Ward Cannel and Fred Marx. And then .......

1. Yep, it all starts with scales. Brush up on your fingering. Get the fingering down on how to run a scale, i.e. right hand going up scale you start on the thumb and sound these intervals 1, 2, 3, tuck the thumb under for 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. Then coming back down you start with the little finger 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, reach over with the index for 3, 2, 1, Left hand is just the opposite.
http://www.musicandyou.com/pianoscalefingering.html

2. Play block chords and one note melody. Brush up on your sight reading. Lead sheet music is the best way to go IMHO.