PDA

View Full Version : Transcribing songs??

Shaman_Santana
05-26-2003, 10:01 AM
Hey all. I've been playing for about a year, think im doing all right but one of the things i've noticed is im heavily reliant on other peoples tabs or official tab books. I'd love to simply be able to sit down, and work out a song by myself, but i have absolutely no idea how to do it (other than pure guessing, which never works for me!). Could someone tell me what i need to work on in being able to transcribe, given i have very little music theory knowledge. I remeber, people have have mentioned learning 'intervals', for example, but im not sure exactly what they are.

Thanks big time for you help! (in advance lol).

jesus
05-26-2003, 01:23 PM
hey,

Concerning the learning of intervals, Guni has a great article
writen on this subject.

The transcription of songs is a matter of ear and practice, and it
also very good to have an idea of theory, scales and harmony, of course, but anyway while you play and learn new songs, by tab or
any other resource, your mind is inherently associating the sounds with the notes on the fret. So the longer you play the easier be your ability to learn by ear.

I would recommend you that begin with easy melodies and try to
play it with the guitar, take short melodies from your mind or from any record you like, take a piece of any lick and try to begin with
easy melodies. Every time you pick the guitar you should dedicate a couple of minutes to do this king of transcribing work by ear.

I sure you that with the time you'r be able to transcribe a lot of stuff. Don't forget to learn theory, scales and so on, since these resources will help you a lot in this learning process.

Greetings

daviej
05-26-2003, 01:38 PM