PDA

View Full Version : Newbie on the block

potshot
04-19-2003, 02:03 AM
Hey all, I'm new around here. I stumbled on this site about a week ago, and I've been reading all the stuff I see around here. It's made for interesting reading, and there's tonnes left. Anyway, I'm new to music, new to the guitar, and most of all, new to the site, so I thought I'd say hi. You guys have a really helpful site and forum here.

A little bit about me and my interests for any who are interested...

My favourite band is Dream Theater, and hence my favourite type of music is Prog metal. I also like Pain of Salvation, Vanden Plas, Vanishing Point, Porcupine Tree, Chris Brooks, and of course, the occasional bit of Metallica :D

That being said, if there was one guitarist whose ability, talent and sound I would aspire to, it would be Mark Knopfler. I don't see him mentioned too much these days, but to me, he gets the most distinctive sound out of his guitar.

I only started on the guitar a couple of months ago. I just decided I was sick of wanting to be able to play but not wanting to spend all the time being terrible at it first, so I thought I'd give it a shot :D So I've been playing my father's accoustic guitar for a couple of months, learning the simple chords, and using them to play songs I know.

I'm going to get myself an electric very shortly, though I'm not sure exactly what to get. People always say that what you want to play greatly affects what guitar you should buy. Fair enough. For starters, I think I would love to learn some Dire Straits. I'd love to learn Dream Theater stuff, but I think I'll just get frustrated trying to learn that stuff straight out. But the problem is that Dire Straits and DT are at fairly opposite ends of the guitar spectrum.