PDA

View Full Version : What makes bass playing good versus correct?

Romp
12-04-2006, 08:38 PM
I've been playing guitar for 17+ years and I know my scales and such pretty well. I bought a bass guitar for two reasons: 1) to lay down bass lines for my recordings, and 2) exercise.

But I've noticed that my bass line runs are not creative and tend to be very boring. I try to play around with pentatonic shapes but everything tends to sound like... well, like a guitarist trying to play bass. Which of course makes perfect sense.

I'm not just playing the notes, mind you. I do have bass melodies in mind, but then I listed to some of the stuff that Billy Cox or JPJ or Cliff Burton did and I hear three distinctive bass sounds, but I don't know how they do it. I have a problem "hearing" bass notes, so it's tough for me to recreate and analyze their riffs.

What do I need to know to take bass playing to the next level?

Spino
12-05-2006, 01:11 PM
If you've been playing guitar for 17 years ,playing Bass should be a breeze once you've built up hand strength and acquired the requisite callouses especially on your plucking hand cuz this plays a large part in defining your sound .Playing Bass is physically demanding so once a week for 10 mins is not going to do a lot for you, it just makes it hard work next time round ,which demotivates .
I'm also a guitar player and before my daily practise I warm up slowly on the bass .It ensures that I lay my hands on the instrument most days which keeps my hands "fit" . I play through my guitar amp with the treble on zero and the volume low,about 1 hour minimum,