PDA

View Full Version : Stumped

Finsta
11-27-2006, 02:03 AM
So here I am. I'm a high-school student, yadda-yadda - I'm sure you've heard it. Along with my studies, I've pushed off serious guitar playing. It's odd, I want to play but I cannot. I keep on telling myself that I want to and that I will, comes time I don't. I'm the type of person who likes efficiency and proficiency (Which I lack along with patience) so I get frustrated very easily. I've read EricV's articles such as Do Not Disturb [If you're reading this Eric, I tried responding to your emails but I don't know if they've reached you or you didn't bother to respond:p] and have always thought of making a practice schedule and getting myself to start to learn and absorb. My problems lie in this, I can't seem to get myself to play. I've singled it out as a chore or something that I dread now, and I want to undo that. The second issue is that I want to learn a lot of things and be an all around versitile and competant musician [You've heard the story over and over, and I like a variety of genres] but I have nowhere to begin without over-burdening myself. Help, anybody?:(

Sentinel
12-01-2006, 02:30 AM
I was the same way. I'd really want to become a good player, so I'd come up with a practice schedule and stick with it...for about two weeks. :(

Now I can sit down and practice my entire schedule almost every day. I try to do it every day, but things do come up. However, if I have to stay up later or get up earlier and practice before work, then I do.

I used to think of it as a chore. Then I realised that I wasn't doing enough playing to go along with my practicing. All I was doing was mindless exercises, and I wasn't having any fun. Sure, I noticed improvement in my playing, but it got to the point where it was like, "Oh, yeah, I have to get in my practice today." With that kind of attitude, a lot of days went by without any practicing.