PDA

View Full Version : goals?

Anjie
07-03-2006, 07:58 PM
I know almost everyone harbours a desire to be a super amazing guitar player, belting out their tunes to an overflowing stadium (or is that just me?:confused: ) but what about short-term goals? Like over the summer for example, if anything, what do you want to achieve in your guitar playing by september?

As a beginner I want to:
Get the changes in between chords smooth,
Play some picking patterns and scales fast
Master playing Street Spirit and the Zephyr Song
Master barre chords
Write a simple song or two.

Hopefully after having achieved all this I'd probably have alot of new goals to work on.

How about you??

Adam_7773
07-03-2006, 09:09 PM
My goals for the summer would be to be able to play my 16-note runs, arpeggios, and legato runs with ease at a higher tempo each week. Plus playing through a Holdsworth-tune or two.

silent-storm
07-04-2006, 12:27 AM
by the end of the summer I want to be able to voice lead individual notes when I play chords and I want to be able to consistantly hear my solos in my head before I play them.

and of course the standards that never change: learn more tunes, don't forget any I already know, and play with more people.

forgottenking2
07-04-2006, 12:43 AM
By the end of the summer I want to:

-Improve my vibrato
-Get better at hybrid picking
-Know at least 20 new chord shapes and be able to use them as well as the
ones I already know.
-Improve my rhythmic ideas/comping
-Be able to follow chords better when improvising.
-Not fail the summer clases I'm taking by being too busy practicing :)
-Learn a few more standards (5 or so... don't have a lot of time)
-Be 20 lbs lighter :p

-Jorge

Lowthorpe
07-04-2006, 07:09 AM
Improve my repetoire. VASTLY. For where I want to be at the moment, I have a satisfactory technique and everything, but I definately want/need a repetoire of songs, both my own, written songs, and existing songs.

Nick

UKRuss
07-04-2006, 07:24 AM